Slashdot looking for open proxies?

I saw the following somewhat-strange line in my web server logs today:

216.34.181.45 - - [25/Aug/2008:10:23:51 -0500] "GET http://tech.slashdot.org/ok.txt HTTP/1.0" 401 523 "-" "libwww-perl/5.812"

That web server is running on the IP of my home router. The requesting IP appears to be a Slashdot machine. My guess is that they are trying to find out who accesses their site through an open proxy. But why? Is there another reason they might send a request like that? Do they ban proxies if they find one?

UPDATE: Apparently, they do in fact ban open proxies (according to this). Supposedly a lot of comment spam comes from them. I wonder if it would help blogs at all to do something similar?

  1. Jeff Waugh says:

    Check out the bad-behavior plugin for WordPress. :-)

  2. Lara23tn says:

    A lot of various studens know some keys of free term papers writing, however it doesn't mean they are able write supreme quality essay papers, however a <a href="http://quality-papers.com/topics/communication_and_media_essays">media essay</a> service can help to compose the biography term paper of great quality and improve writing skills of students.

Post a comment


(lesstile enabled - surround code blocks with ---)

Recent Tweets

Blog Roll